April 20, 2009

  • Wichita Mountains Trip

    I put the kids on the school bus on Friday and my sweetie took me over to Chris’s house.  We left OKC at 9 AM and there was a little light rain for a few minutes but nothing like what had been forecast.
    We took the back roads instead of the interstate since there was no rush to get there.  This took us past the Meers store, famous for their 7 inch diameter burger.  We had a picnic, so no burgers for us but we did stop to take photos and use their restrooms!

     
     

    So far so good, no major rain to speak of as yet!  Chris was a very accommodating driver and stopped whenever there was a good photo opportunity.  We ate our picnic lunch at Lost Lake and then headed to one of my favorite hiking trails.

    There was plenty wildlife for us to see.

     

     

     

    And stunning scenery

     

    We started to hike up Little Baldy but not too far up the trail I heard someone calling for help.  So we stopped what we were doing and helped a man, little boy and their little dog find their way back onto the trail.  Then the heavens opened so we decided to call it a day and headed to the car to find our cottage.

    We were staying close to the refuge in Medicine Park. Our cottage was called Buffalo Gal.  I had forgotten to pack extra memory cards for my camera so no photos of the cottage from me I’m afraid.

    We made turkey chili for dinner and after we had eaten we settled down to watch a couple of movies.  I had the bed in the loft so only one glass of wine with dinner for me!  It had been a fun day with lots of laughs and we were all looking forward to getting back to our hike on Saturday.

Comments (10)

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *