June 18, 2009

  • We’re back!

    We arrived back in Oklahoma on Tuesday evening.  I’m caught up with chores and have settled down to work on some of the 1000+ photos I took!

    Our vacation was great.  The weather wasn’t as bad as the forecasts had made out.  We had a couple of rain showers that sent us scuttling inside for less than half an hour.  Apart from that the skies were blue with puffy clouds.
    We were busy, busy, busy!  We visited New Lanark Mills, Stirling Castle, drove right round Loch Ness which is 22 miles long, stopping at Urquart Castle on the way. Then we visited Culloden the site of the last battle in the UK, we went to the beach a lot, Nairn, Auchmithie and St Andrews, went to Edinburgh Zoo and spent a few days in Glasgow. Oh yes, and we visited both sides of the family too!

    We had lots of great seafood and wonderful Scottish breakfasts and the kids enjoyed sampling all the sweets that the UK has to offer!

    I am posting my photos on Flickr and linking to that.  Saves me time uploading to multiple sites!

    Our first full day was spent with my in laws, we went to New Lanark.
    http://www.flickr.com/photos/24936974@N06/sets/72157619793924797/ 

    We stopped off at Stirling Castle on they way to my parents who live on the East Coast.
    http://www.flickr.com/photos/24936974@N06/sets/72157619829849087/

Comments (7)

  • So glad you’re back. I look forward to looking at the photos. I’m going to Scotland one day. The spousal unit and I both have Scottish ancestry. Mine SCREAMS through me. His is more subtle (the Greek ancestry takes over).

  • @CanadianNational - 

    We are pale with dark hair – the kids are freckling too like their Dad did as a kid. No mistaking we are celts!

  • I have admired the Cotton mill and the old castle from the XII th century .
    Do you know Gill , I always have  dreamt to go in Scotland for its landscapes , its legends , history and geology . Probably I will never go .
    But you supply with your photos . You are our eyes .

    Love

    Michel

  • Welcome back! Sounds like a great time, but yes, now you have a lot of catching up to do!
     I will go & check out your photos links now.

  • Beautiful photos Gill!!!!
    Can’t wait to see more.

  • Wecome back…I’m glad you had a good trip. Off to look at your photos now. : )

  • Welcome back  Gill,  ejoyed the tour of Scotland and the places you visited.  Very enjoyable.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *