June 1, 2009

  • A trip to Martin Park

    I have really let my xanga site slide the last month.  It’s been all go as we finish up the kids’ school year.  We are  heading to Scotland tomorrow for a 2 week vacation – yay!!

    Here are some photos from a trip to one of our favorite parks in OKC.  I had left the battery for my camera charging at home so Little Lady generously offered me her camera, what a sweetheart!

     

     Last year a powerful storm knocked out the drains that bring water into park so the pond slowly dried up.  We were so happy to see that the problem has been fixed and the water is back in the park.

    We walked round our favorite trail and up ahead of us I saw a couple photographing a bird.  It was a baby blue jay and not phased in the slightest by humans with cameras getting close.
    The little guy actually flew onto my shoulder, kiddo did get a photo of it but it was very blurry as they were freaking out that there was a bird on Mom.  I really enjoyed it and I’m glad it didn’t peck me or poop on me!


     

    We also saw a couple of deer in this meadow, but they were too fast for me to get a shot of them.

    We headed down to the stream and the kids had a blast puddling about in the water with some sticks!

    By now they were getting hungry so we went to Panera for a snack and then onto Barnes and Noble to pick up some books for our trip to Scotland.

Comments (13)

  • if you get a real health notion…or just a taste for whiskey and a big long walk, enjoy the reasearch of, scotland’s west highland walk…grom just outside glasgow up north in sight of ben nevis and along loch lomand….the west highland way….parts of it are pretty as all get out so i’ve seen only in pictures….but it’s something to at least know about.  HAVE A GRAND TIME

  • Great pics…I was starting to think y’all fell off the face of the earth…Lookie how grown up those kids are!  Looks like the little lady’s hair is soooo long?!  Miss chatting w/you bunches. Enjoy the trip to Scotland! HUGS!!

  • Cute photos! Little Lady has a pretty nice camera for you to get such good pics. Have a wonderful trip!

  • I’m glad you got a post on xanga before the trip… and a perfect one. So intriguing to learn a baby bird in the wild actually landed on your shoulder. They don’t weigh a thing, do they?

  • Will be thinking about you while you are gone! Have you told Kiddo yet that he doesn’t have to go to school while in Scotland?? lol

  • Took pics of a baby jaybird in the yard today but used the phone so no telling if they will ever get on here or not. Have fun and be safe on your trip.

  • @Uncious - 

    Don’t think I’ll ever get a taste for whisky! We are dividing our time between our families. Mine live on the East Coast and Hubby’s are near Glasgow. We are taking the kids up to the Highlands to Nairn and Inverness.

  • @AnnNKeith - 

    Still here, just very busy my friend! Scouts, gymnastics and school took up a lot of my time!

  • Just wishing you bon voyage Gill. I was little more than a kid myself last time I was in Nairn and Inverness. However I was in Mallaig and Fort William 4 years ago. Little Lady’s camera has done well! ~ Tim

  • I have missed your beautiful photos! I can totally understand about being busy & not having enough time to update though. I too have been guilty of that here lately.
    Wow, 2 weeks in Scotland!!! I know you are excited for that.
    You can capture beautiful pictures no matter what type of camera you are using!
    That is amazing that the bird flew on you! I guess she didn’t know any better. haha… What amazing pictures you captured of her. I really love that last one with her mouth opened & taken head on…she has a “bat” stance. lol…& look how big her eyes are!
    The pictures of the kiddos at the stream are gorgeous!
    Have a safe trip & enjoy your time. Will be very excited to see pictures !

  • The bird pics are amazing Gill. but as i write this you are in a plane!!

  • Once more amazing pictures of the children by the water as well as the young blue jay that looks lost .
    Have a good stay in Scotland .

    Love

    Michel

  • Panera!!?? Oh my, I love that place. Their cheddar-broccoli soup is EVIL!!! How was Scotland?

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *