April 19, 2009

  • Wichita Mountains pre trip

    Once upon a time around Christmas time, there was a Mommy who couldn’t come come up with any present hints for her wonderful hubby.  So she said “Honey, what I would like more than anything would be a day or two away from my Mommy responsibilities”  You see in the almost 8 years of being a Mommy she had only left them for a night and was back before they woke next morning.

    And that is how my Mommy escape to the Wichita Mountains with Alice and Chris began!

    I love to do research and plan vacations so I came up with a few ideas of places to go and we all decided the Wichita Mountains in SW Oklahoma would be a good destination.  We go there a few time a year as a family and I thought it would be nice to get out hiking without worrying that the kids were going to fall off a mountain (albeit a smallish Oklahoma mountain)

    It was with a little trepidation that we planned it for April, it is tornado season after all and the thought of severe weather tends to make me a little anxious (ok, very anxious).  But we had to do it before the kids broke up for school in May and before it got too hot for Alice and I.

    Fast forward to the week before our trip and the weather forecast was looking dire, 80% chance of thunderstorms and a chance of severe weather on the day we had planned to hike.  Fortunately Alice managed to remind me of the fickleness of Oklahoma weather and she was right! 

Comments (2)

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *