Month: June 2009

  • I can dream

    We are in for a week of 100F+ temperatures here in OKC. 

    I’m dreaming of cool 50s-60s and a sea breeze in Scotland! 


    Auchmithie Beach


    Auchmithie Beach


    Urquhart Castle, Loch Ness


    Loch Ness


    Nairn Beach


    Old Carrbridge.

    Most of my photos are up now on Flickr

  • We’re back!

    We arrived back in Oklahoma on Tuesday evening.  I’m caught up with chores and have settled down to work on some of the 1000+ photos I took!

    Our vacation was great.  The weather wasn’t as bad as the forecasts had made out.  We had a couple of rain showers that sent us scuttling inside for less than half an hour.  Apart from that the skies were blue with puffy clouds.
    We were busy, busy, busy!  We visited New Lanark Mills, Stirling Castle, drove right round Loch Ness which is 22 miles long, stopping at Urquart Castle on the way. Then we visited Culloden the site of the last battle in the UK, we went to the beach a lot, Nairn, Auchmithie and St Andrews, went to Edinburgh Zoo and spent a few days in Glasgow. Oh yes, and we visited both sides of the family too!

    We had lots of great seafood and wonderful Scottish breakfasts and the kids enjoyed sampling all the sweets that the UK has to offer!

    I am posting my photos on Flickr and linking to that.  Saves me time uploading to multiple sites!

    Our first full day was spent with my in laws, we went to New Lanark.
    http://www.flickr.com/photos/24936974@N06/sets/72157619793924797/ 

    We stopped off at Stirling Castle on they way to my parents who live on the East Coast.
    http://www.flickr.com/photos/24936974@N06/sets/72157619829849087/

  • A trip to Martin Park

    I have really let my xanga site slide the last month.  It’s been all go as we finish up the kids’ school year.  We are  heading to Scotland tomorrow for a 2 week vacation – yay!!

    Here are some photos from a trip to one of our favorite parks in OKC.  I had left the battery for my camera charging at home so Little Lady generously offered me her camera, what a sweetheart!

     

     Last year a powerful storm knocked out the drains that bring water into park so the pond slowly dried up.  We were so happy to see that the problem has been fixed and the water is back in the park.

    We walked round our favorite trail and up ahead of us I saw a couple photographing a bird.  It was a baby blue jay and not phased in the slightest by humans with cameras getting close.
    The little guy actually flew onto my shoulder, kiddo did get a photo of it but it was very blurry as they were freaking out that there was a bird on Mom.  I really enjoyed it and I’m glad it didn’t peck me or poop on me!


     

    We also saw a couple of deer in this meadow, but they were too fast for me to get a shot of them.

    We headed down to the stream and the kids had a blast puddling about in the water with some sticks!

    By now they were getting hungry so we went to Panera for a snack and then onto Barnes and Noble to pick up some books for our trip to Scotland.